170×170 day 156 3.10.15 a few of my favorite things

Twinkle twinkle little stars… yes they are one of my favorite things, stars, planets, meteors whatever they are they always fill up my heart with their beauty.

This love has been from childhood, courtesy goes to my elder siblings, they used to identify the stars, my eldest brother could recognize quite a few, actually he used to try to identify them methodically, so from childhood we too got hooked into watching the sky, unfortunately not with telescopes bare eyes. My younger brother was most attracted to them scientifically I think, he dreamt of studying astronomy and buying a telescope.

Mine was just the admiration of an admirer, I could recognize barely two or three constellations properly, I know their names in Bengali, saptarshi, kalpurush and another one that is shaped like W, I have forgotten its name.

I rather like the tranquility and peace they give to heart when we look at them, I really missed them in Kolkata, here a few at least are visible beating the neon glare!

170x170

5 thoughts on “170×170 day 156 3.10.15 a few of my favorite things

  1. we used to live on the fourth floor and ours was the tallest building in the locaity.. so i always used to stand at the window and look up at the sky and gaze at the stars for hours.. never knew why but i just loved watching them without even blinking my eyes.. i always felt that those stars wanted to communicate with us.. sometimes in this effort i even had sight of the shooting stars or falling stars.. it was so amazing to watch them decorating the skies with their natural glow. i miss them now.. i wanna thank u Sharmishtaji for such a lovely blog that awaken my old and pleasant memories.. i should give some credit to the movie Barbie as Rapunzel too.. i clearly remember that it was on the night of Nov 2, 2003 at 8.00 pm that they had premiered it for the first time on Pogo.. i was in 8th std.. since then my love for the stars increased.. lots of love ❤

    • You are one lucky girl, here the night sky is so full of light that you wont be able to see stars even if you see half the sky! That I was able to manage in Hyderabad, I could see half the sky, but barely one or two stars, that too after much straining of eyes. Stars are amazing!

Please Please leave your URLs with your comments so I can return your sweet gesture. We all love to read comments, dont we?

